2013 Stars 


Barenaked Ladies  – Jim Creeggan, Kevin Hearn, Ed Robertson, Tyler Stewart – Entertainment

Christine Bentley – Community

Dwayne Morgan – Arts and Culture

Judie Oliver – Sports

Gerry Phillips – Community

Scarborough Historical Society – Lionel Purcell, Richard Schofield – Community

Monika Schnarre – Arts and Culture




2011 Stars 


Peter Appleyard – Entertainment

Dr. Vicki Bismilla – Education

Lawrence Gowan – Entertainment

Jay C. Hope –  Community

Dr. Dhun Noria – Health and Science

Dr. Harold Stein – Health and Science

Ron Watson – Community




2009 Stars


Marilyn Denis – Entertainment

Dwayne De Rosario – Sports

Gordon Deval – Sports

Lois James – Environment

Debra McGrath – Entertainment

Don Montgomery – Community (awarded posthumously)




2008 Stars


Dr. Sheela Basrur – Health and Science

Earl Campbell – Education

Deborah Cox – Entertainment

Ben Heppner – Entertainment

Rick Middleton – Sports

John Wimbs – Community




2007 Stars


James Bamford – Community

Johnny Cowell – Arts and Culture

Dr. Ming-Tat Cheung – Community

Bob Hunter – Environment

Cindy Nicholas – Sports

Anson Taylor – Education




2006 Stars


Dr. Lloyd Carlsen – Health and Science

Dr. R. H. King – Education

Dr. Charles C. Macklin – Science

Jamaal Magloire – Sports

Doris McCarthy – Arts and Culture  *new bio for McCarthy see below

David Onley – Community

Vicky Sunohara – Sports

David Thomson – Pioneer

Wes Williams – Entertainment

Dr. Joseph Y. K. Wong – Community

David Onley was raised in Scarborough and attended Heron Park and Fairmount Public Schools, Midland C.I. and the University of Toronto at Scarborough. He began his media career in 1984 with City TV's "City Pulse" serving as Environment Specialist and later as the Science and Education specialist.


As one of Canadian television's well known broadcasters, David Onley now anchors Cable Pulse24 the GTA's most watched news channel. Apart from his role as broadcaster, David also has the distinction of being one of Canada's leading space observers and the author of the best selling novel "Shuttle".


David Onley has been recognized for work with church and community organizations as well as the Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons. He was the recipient of the Clarke Institute's 1996 "Courage to Come Back" Award (coming back from the effects of polio), and was inducted into the Terry Fox Hall of Fame in 1997 for his ongoing contributions to the causes of people with physical disabilities. In 2004, David Onley received an Honorary Doctorate of Laws Degree from Canada Christian College among the many accolades for his work.