2013 Stars 


Barenaked Ladies  – Jim Creeggan, Kevin Hearn, Ed Robertson, Tyler Stewart – Entertainment

Christine Bentley – Community

Dwayne Morgan – Arts and Culture

Judie Oliver – Sports

Gerry Phillips – Community

Scarborough Historical Society – Lionel Purcell, Richard Schofield – Community

Monika Schnarre – Arts and Culture




2011 Stars 


Peter Appleyard – Entertainment

Dr. Vicki Bismilla – Education

Lawrence Gowan – Entertainment

Jay C. Hope –  Community

Dr. Dhun Noria – Health and Science

Dr. Harold Stein – Health and Science

Ron Watson – Community




2009 Stars


Marilyn Denis – Entertainment

Dwayne De Rosario – Sports

Gordon Deval – Sports

Lois James – Environment

Debra McGrath – Entertainment

Don Montgomery – Community (awarded posthumously)




2008 Stars


Dr. Sheela Basrur – Health and Science

Earl Campbell – Education

Deborah Cox – Entertainment

Ben Heppner – Entertainment

Rick Middleton – Sports

John Wimbs – Community




2007 Stars


James Bamford – Community

Johnny Cowell – Arts and Culture

Dr. Ming-Tat Cheung – Community

Bob Hunter – Environment

Cindy Nicholas – Sports

Anson Taylor – Education




2006 Stars


Dr. Lloyd Carlsen – Health and Science

Dr. R. H. King – Education

Dr. Charles C. Macklin – Science

Jamaal Magloire – Sports

Doris McCarthy – Arts and Culture  *new bio for McCarthy see below

David Onley – Community

Vicky Sunohara – Sports

David Thomson – Pioneer

Wes Williams – Entertainment

Dr. Joseph Y. K. Wong – Community

After playing professional hockey and softball in the Maritimes, Don Montgomery moved to Scarborough in 1955 where he became an exemplary volunteer and friend to more than 300,000 children who were able to participate in quality minor sports teams, thanks to his efforts. 


In 1962, Montgomery took on the role of coach and president of the Dorset Park Boys’ Minor Softball Association. He went on to become president of the hockey association, and one year later he found time for yet another volunteer role as director of the Scarborough Hockey Association. It was in his role at the Scarborough Hockey Association that Montgomery would have his greatest impact, becoming its president in 1967 and holding that position until his death in 2007.  During this time, he founded the first Scarborough girls’ hockey league, was one of the founding members of the Indianapolis/Scarborough Peace Games, led a ladies’ fastball team to win the provincial championships and started the J.J. Keay Hockey Tournament and Albert Campbell Memorial Hockey Series, which raised more than $600,000 for hospitals in Scarborough. 


For his tireless dedication and creative leadership, Montgomery has been awarded several honours, including Scarborough Citizen of the Year. He was also awarded the Ontario Medal, and in 2007 the Mid Scarborough Community Recreation Centre was renamed the Don Montgomery Community Recreation Centre in his honour.