2013 Stars 


Barenaked Ladies  – Jim Creeggan, Kevin Hearn, Ed Robertson, Tyler Stewart – Entertainment

Christine Bentley – Community

Dwayne Morgan – Arts and Culture

Judie Oliver – Sports

Gerry Phillips – Community

Scarborough Historical Society – Lionel Purcell, Richard Schofield – Community

Monika Schnarre – Arts and Culture




2011 Stars 


Peter Appleyard – Entertainment

Dr. Vicki Bismilla – Education

Lawrence Gowan – Entertainment

Jay C. Hope –  Community

Dr. Dhun Noria – Health and Science

Dr. Harold Stein – Health and Science

Ron Watson – Community




2009 Stars


Marilyn Denis – Entertainment

Dwayne De Rosario – Sports

Gordon Deval – Sports

Lois James – Environment

Debra McGrath – Entertainment

Don Montgomery – Community (awarded posthumously)




2008 Stars


Dr. Sheela Basrur – Health and Science

Earl Campbell – Education

Deborah Cox – Entertainment

Ben Heppner – Entertainment

Rick Middleton – Sports

John Wimbs – Community




2007 Stars


James Bamford – Community

Johnny Cowell – Arts and Culture

Dr. Ming-Tat Cheung – Community

Bob Hunter – Environment

Cindy Nicholas – Sports

Anson Taylor – Education




2006 Stars


Dr. Lloyd Carlsen – Health and Science

Dr. R. H. King – Education

Dr. Charles C. Macklin – Science

Jamaal Magloire – Sports

Doris McCarthy – Arts and Culture  *new bio for McCarthy see below

David Onley – Community

Vicky Sunohara – Sports

David Thomson – Pioneer

Wes Williams – Entertainment

Dr. Joseph Y. K. Wong – Community

Jay C. Hope became the highest-ranking black police officer in Canadian history, when he was promoted to Deputy Chief of Ontario Provincial Police in 2004 and only the second black Deputy Minister of Correctional Services when appointed by Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty in 2008.


Hope has also been Commissioner of Emergency Management Ontario, Commissioner of Community Safety and an Ontario Human Rights Commission senior investigator. Currently on long-term secondment, he remains a serving police officer of more than 30 years.


Deputy Minister Hope is a University of Toronto, Scarborough Campus, graduate with a bachelor of arts in psychology and criminology. In 2009, he received an honourary doctorate of law from the University of Guelph and an honourary bachelor of arts from Seneca College.

Hope’s fondest memories are of Scarborough – attending Glen Ravine Public School and Midland High School and working at Scarborough Town Centre.


In 2001, he was awarded the African-Canadian Achievement Award and the Amethyst Award, the highest honour given to civil servants.


Hope’s most proud of the traffic programs he’s implemented that have significantly reduced death and injury to drivers and passengers.